Collins Hill High School Media Center Blog

Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson

wintergirlsIf you haven’t read Speak by this author, then stop reading this and go check it out. It’s that good, and that’s what prompted me to pick up Wintergirls, the latest from Laurie Halse Anderson. She has published several other books that are still on my long list of books to read. I almost didn’t read this because of the topic – teenage girls and eating disorders, specifically anorexia. I have painfully watched two very close people to me suffer from anorexia, and it is horrible. So this book was a little too close to home, and that’s probably why I can’t enthusiastically say I loved this book.

But I don’t review books on here that I think aren’t worth reading, so with the caveat of the topic known, I do think this book would be a very good read for many high school girls, whether you’ve known somebody with an eating disorder or not. It’s well-written, honest, disturbing, and an emotional journey, as Lia, the main character struggles to become thinner and thinner while dealing with her best friend’s death. Right now we only have one copy, and I have a feeling it’ll be checked out quite a bit this year.

~Mrs. Frilot

August 2, 2009 - Posted by | Book recommendation | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

