Collins Hill High School Media Center Blog

Converting Kate by Beckie Weinheimer

convertingkateIf you are looking for a fiction book that’s interesting and thought-provoking about religion, then check this book out. Kate is a teenager who was brought up in a very strict, all-encompassing sect of Christianity that has kept her removed from most aspects of a social existence. Religion forms a divide in her parents, who eventually divorce because Kate’s dad doesn’t believe in the Church of the Holy Divine. Then one day he has a heart attack and dies. Kate is grief-stricken and starts to challenge her faith.

Kate and her mom move across country to the town where her dad grew up. There, Kate explores the world beyond the tenets of the Holy Divine Church, challenges her mother, finds compassion with her dad’s Aunt Katherine, makes a few attempts at romance, and struggles to understand God and religion.

If you are ok with reading about questioning faith, this is an interesting book. Kate’s questions, I think, parallel many thoughts that people have about faith and God and why things happen the way they do. The author has created a character that is truthful and honest and real, perhaps because the book is loosely based on her own experiences.

~Mrs. Frilot

June 9, 2009 - Posted by | Book recommendation | ,

3 Comments »

  1. Hi Google alerts directed me to this review. What a nice summary of my book. I would like to extend the invitation to readers who have questions to email me at beckieweinheimer@gmail.com and I’d be happy to answer their questions or discuss the book with them.

    all best and happy summer vacation!

    Beckie Weinheimer

    Comment by Beckie Weinheimer | June 9, 2009 | Reply

  2. Wow – thanks! The inner child in me just feels like I got a letter from a rock star. Thanks for responding and for offering up your email to our kids at CHHS. I’ll definitely be recommending your book in the fall.

    My heart ached for you when I read your note at the end, but I very much enjoyed reading your book and felt like Kate was such an honest character. Thanks for putting a great piece of young adult literature out there that tackles a challenging topic!

    Holly Frilot

    Comment by justshelveit | June 11, 2009 | Reply

    • Holly,

      Thank you. It did take a lot of heart for me to share the author’s note, but so many people comment positively on it, that I’m glad I did. I love your name by the way, it is the name of one of my daughter’s. And if you feel like you got a message from a rock star, I think I got one from a goddess. I have decided that librarians and teachers are the gods and goddesses of this world! 🙂

      Comment by Beckie Weinheimer | June 11, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

